IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellowship

Applications for the 2023 IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellowship have now closed! Check back in early 2024 for the next round of applications.

Our goal is to build future leaders in pediatric simulation. This fellowship is intended for the novice simulation-enthusiast with an interest in pediatric simulation-based research and education. We are excited to welcome a diverse group of fellows and organizers to our team. The fellowship is open to allied health care workers, nurses, doctors, and all health care professionals who wish to become leaders in simulation. If you are interested in becoming a fellow or if you are interested in joining our organizing team, please feel free to reach out to us. 

Jabeen Fayyaz, MD FCPS, MCPS, DCH, MHPE

Chair of the IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellowship


Committee Chair

Jabeen Fayyaz, MD FCPS, MCPS, DCH, MHPE, PhD – The Hospital for Sick Kids, Toronto, CA

Associate Chair

Khang Hee Gan, MD – Starship Children’s Hospital, Auckland, NZ

Associate Chair

Geethanjali Ramachandra, MBBS, MRCP – Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences Secunderabad, India


  • Committee Chair – Jabeen Fayyaz, MD – Hospital for Sick Kids, CA
  • Associate Chair – Khang Hee Gan, MD Starship Children’s Hospital, NZ
  • Associate Chair – Geethanajli Ramachandra, MD – Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences Secunderabad, IN
  • Mark D Adler, MD – Northwestern University, US
  • Aaron Calhoun, MD – University of Louisville, US
  • Jonathan P Duff, MD – University of Alberta, Canada
  • Isabel Gross, MD – Yale School of Medicine, US
  • Vinay M Nadkarni, MD – Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, US
  • Akira Nishisaki, MD MSCE – Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, US
  • Normaliz Rodriguez, MD – Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital, US

Founding Chairs

  • Isabel Gross, MD 
  • Jo Hegarty, MD 
  • Trish Wood

Past Fellowship Organizing Committee

  • Adam Cheng, MD 
  • Lou Halamek, MD
  • Jo Hegarty, MD 
  • Taylor Sawyer, MD 
  • Kim Stone, MD 
  • Trish Wood 


Mission & Vision
The International Pediatric Simulation Society (IPSS) and the International Network for Simulation-based Pediatric Innovation, Research, and Education (INSPIRE) promote multi-disciplinary simulation and simulation scholarship in all healthcare subspecialties that treat infants and children. IPSS is a global community of pediatricians, neonatologists, pediatric nurses, educators, and other allied health professionals from over 30 countries, all dedicated to improving the care of infants and children worldwide through multi-disciplinary simulation-based education, training, and research. INSPIRE is a global community of simulation experts, clinicians, educators, investigators, statisticians, human factors researchers, and psychologists who share a common mission of improving the lives of children through healthcare simulation-based research, scholarship, and innovation. The IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellowship was created to support early career investigators in simulation, exposing them to simulation related experiences and mentorship to broaden horizons, and promote excellence in education and investigative research.


Due to generous donations to INSPIRE, funding for the fellowship expenses is available by special application. Funding can be used for project, career development, and travel related expenses, provided that the expense can clearly be associated with the fellow’s career development in pediatric simulation scholarship. Applying for funding requires a 1-page itemized budget detailing how funds will be used accompanied by a budget justification no more than 1 page in length describing how this will directly contribute to the completion of the fellow’s research project and their development as a pediatric simulation scholar. If awarded, funds not used by the applicant before the end of the fellowship will revert to INSPIRE. Application for funding can be made along with the primary application. Modifications to the request for funds will be considered on a case- by-case basis.


An IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellow is based at a home institution where most of their simulation activities are conducted. Each fellow will be assigned two simulation mentors (one local mentor + one international mentor OR two international mentors, depending on the availability of local simulation expertise) to expand and enrich their learning experience. Both mentors will work together during the course of the fellowship. Applications to the fellowship must include a motivational statement, research proposal and an individualized development plan. These will be reviewed by the IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellowship Committee. The project idea will be presented at an IPSSW meeting in the form of an initial ALERT presentation during the INSPIRE meeting. ALERT presentations are brief 5-minute presentations followed by a round table discussion that serves as a platform to network as well as an opportunity to receive high quality feedback from simulation leaders on the project before launching it. The fellow will also submit a brief quarterly project progress report to the IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellowship Committee. The fellowship will be concluded with a research presentation at the following IPSSW meeting.
As part of the IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellowship, the fellows will meet every two months using an online meeting platform for networking and to exchange experiences.


2023 – 2025

Sidra Ishaque, MD

Assistant Professor

The Aga Khan University Hospital, Pakistan

Jaun Pablo Jaldin, MD

Pediatric Simulation Fellow

Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia , United States

Adeel Khatri, MD

Residency Program Director

Indus Hospital and Health Network, Pakistan

Susan Zakariah, MD

Pediatric Emergency and Critical Care Fellow

Korle Bu Teaching Hospital, Ghana


2021 – 2023

  • Katharina Bibl, MD (Austria) 
    • Mentors: Isabel Gross, MD, Akira Nishisaki,
  • Vijayanand Jamalpuri, MD (India) 
    • Mentors: Vinay Nadkarni, MD, Mark Adler, MD 
  • Daniel Orqueda, MD (Argentina) 
    • Mentors: Ellen Deutsch, MD, Cara Doughty, MD  
  • Mahima Singh, MD (India) 
    • Mentors: Aaron Calhoun, MD, Nancy Tofil, MD 


2020 – 2021

  • Reinis Balmaks, MD (Latvia) 
    • Mentors: Isabel Gross, MD, Akira Nishisaki, MD 
  • Mohammad Bayoumi, MD (Saudi Arabia) 
    • Mentor: Lou Halamek, MD 
  • Sobana Jaiganesh, MD (Malaysia) 
    • Mentors: Mark Adler, MD, Jonathan Duff, MD 
  • Ebor Jacob James, MD (India) 
    • Mentors: Geethanajli Ramachandra, MD, Vinay Nadkarni, MD

2019 – 2020

  • Khang Hee Gan, MD (New Zealand) 
    • Mentors: Mike Shepherd, MD, Akira Nishisaki, MD 
  • Sharon Mascarenhas (United Arabic Emirates) 
    • Mentors: Mohamed Nasaif, MD, Mark Adler, MD 
  • Suzanne Nelson, MD (United States of America) 
    • Mentors: Samreen Vora, MD, Marc Auerbach, MD 

2018 – 2019

  • Geethanjali Ramachandra, MD (India) 
    • Mentor: Vinay Nadkarni, MD