Scientific Review Committee (SRC)

The INSPIRE Scientific Review Committee (SRC) is responsible for:

  • Management of the project review process for research proposals, manuscripts and grants. These formally occur twice per year at the IMSH and IPSS INSPIRE meetings as part of the ALERT presentation process, but our website is also open to ongoing submissions.
  • Ongoing updates and revisions of the INSPIRE scientific review process (e.g ALERT presentation templates, submission processes, rating/feedback processes, etc).
  • Dissemination of INSPIRE research expectations and templates (e.g. INSPIRE poster templates, acknowledgments of INSPIRE in a poster/manuscript, INSPIRE bylines, etc).
  • Development of educational processes intended to enhance the research knowledge and skillsets of those affiliated with INSPIRE (e.g research design, project implementation, writing skills, etc).


Isabel T Gross, MD PhD MPH

Yale University, CT, USA

Dr. Isabel Theresia Gross is an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at Yale University School of Medicine. She earned her MD and PhD at the Albert-Ludwigs University Freiburg, Germany. Thereafter, she started her pediatric residency in Tuebingen, Germany, and then completed a pediatric residency and chief residency at the University of South Florida. During residency, she completed an MPH with a concentration on Disaster Management and Humanitarian Relief. Dr. Gross completed her pediatric emergency medicine fellowship at Yale University School of Medicine and is now an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at Yale University. She was the Chair of the SRC 2017-2021, is on the executive board of INSPIRE, and she serves on the Board of Directors for the International Pediatric Simulation Society (IPSS). She is a founding chair of the IPSS-INSPIRE Pediatric Simulation Fellowship as well as the founding chair of the Healthcare Distance Simulation Collaboration. Dr. Gross is an established simulation-based researcher and research mentor for her international colleagues. Her simulation-based research focus is on distance simulation, international outreach simulations, and the explorations of new methods and technologies in simulation-based education.


Nancy M Tofil, MD MeD

University of Alabama in Birmingham, AL, USA

Nancy M. Tofil, MD, MEd. is a Professor of Pediatrics and the Division Director of Pediatric Critical Care at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). She obtained her medical degree from The Ohio State University College of Medicine and her Masters of Education from UAB. She completed her pediatric residency and critical care fellowship training also at UAB. She is the medical director of the Pediatric Simulation Center at Children’s of Alabama/University of Alabama at Birmingham. The Simulation Center has trained over 75,000 learners in almost 15 years. Our center has a focus on interdisciplinary learning and parent education. Dr. Tofil is also the Senior Associate Program Director for the Pediatric Residency Training Program. She has been an active member of INSPIRE since 2010 and a member of the Scientific Review committee reviewing and mentoring ALERT presentations since 2015. In 2019, she became a board member of the Executive Council. In that role, along with Isabella Gross and now Priti Jani, she co-directs the Scientific Review Committee.


  • Christopher M Kennedy, MD – University of Kansas School of Medicine, KS, USA
  • Linda Brown, MD MSCE – Brown University, RI, USA
  • Akira Nishisaki, MD MSCE – Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Frank Overly, MD – Brown University, RI, USA
  • Aaron W Calhoun, MD – University of Louisville, KY, USA
  • Tarek R. Hazwani, MD – King Saud Bin Abdulaziz University for Health Sciences, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Kamal M Abulebda, MD – Indiana University, IN
  • Karen A Mangold, MD MeD – Northwestern University, IL, USA
  • Arun Bansal, MD – Virginia Hospital Center, VA, USA
  • Benjamin T Kerrey, MD – University of Cincinnati, OH, USA
  • Wendy Van Ittersum, MD – Northeast Ohio Medical University, OH, USA
  • Tali Capua, MD – Tel Aviv Sourasky Medical Center, Tel Aviv, Israel

As INSPIRE increases membership and sites, we receive more research proposals and collaborative interest.  To continue our objective to provide ongoing feedback and collaboration, we recruit interested and expert simulationists to address our proposals and help provide ongoing feedback throughout the life of the study.  If you are interested, please contact us at [email protected] .

Our founding Scientific Review Committee consisted of the following 8 Members:

  • David Kessler, MD, Columbia University (Chair)
  • Jonathan Duff, MD, Stollery Children’s Hospital
  • Nancy Tofil MD, Children’s Hospital Alabama
  • Aaron Calhoun, MD, Kosair Children’s Hospital
  • Akira Nishisaki, MD, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Frank Overly, MD, Hasbro Children’s Hospital;
  • Linda Brown, MD, Hasbro Children’s Hospital;
  • Mark Adler, MD, Lurie Children’s Hospital